Join us for the 2023 Empowerment Dinner!

Back to News

ULP President/CEO Andrea Custis will receive NUL Women of Power Award on March 25

March 2, 2021



Teresa Candori
                        212-558-5362 |


In recognition of Women’s History Month, the National Urban League has announced the honorees for its prestigious Women of Power Awards, to be presented at a virtual celebration on March 25 at 7 pm Eastern Time.

The honorees are:

  • Abby Phillip,  CNN senior political correspondent and anchor of Inside Politics Sunday
  • Stacey Abrams, Founder & Board Chair, Fair Fight Action
  • Brittany Packnett Cunningham,  activist, educator, host of UNDISTRACTED, and MSNBC contributor
  • Claire Babineaux-Fontenot,  Chief Executive Officer, Feeding America
  • Kizzmekia Corbett, PhD, research fellow and scientific lead, Coronavirus Vaccines & Immunopathogenesis Team, NIH, NIAID, Vaccine Research Center
  • Andrea Custis, President & CEO, Urban League of Philadelphia
  • Amanda Gorman, inaugural poet, activist, and author


The awards ceremony this year will be held virtually, streaming at 7 pm EST, March 25, on the National Urban League’s FacebookTwitter, and YouTube channels and on CBS News correspondent and co-anchor of CBS Saturday, Michelle Miller, will serve as host and mistress of ceremonies. The event is held in partnership with UPS, Toyota, Target, and AARP. Read more about this event here.